PBKS vs KKR: Punjab beat KKR by 7 runs via DLS method

PBKS vs KKR: On Saturday in Mohali, the weather ruined what was going to be an exciting conclusion as Kolkata Knight Riders, needing to score a huge 192 to win, fell to 146/7 in 16 overs, giving the home team a 7 run victory.

Bhanuka Rajapaksa hit a magnificent fifty to help Punjab Kings record a challenging 191 for five against Kolkata Knight Riders in their opening game of this season’s IPL in Mohali. Rajapaksa and captain Shikhar Dhawan added 86 runs for the second wicket to build a solid foundation, with Sam Curran, Jitesh Sharma and Sikandar Raza adding a late flurry on a batting-friendly track here at the PCA stadium.

Rahmanullah Gurbaz shined in the first over for KKR until Arshdeep Singh sent them crashing down with a double-wicket over. Captain Nitish Rana and Venkatesh Iyer led the recovery before the spinners struck to reclaim control for PBKS. Andre Russell hit three fours and two sixes in his exciting 35 off 19 before Curran sent him back to halt KKR’s advance.

They required 46 runs off 24 but fell seven runs shy of the DLS par mark. And the rain guaranteed that play did not continue as Punjab Kings won by seven runs to kick off their IPL 2023 season.

Full Scorecard: PBKS vs KKR

Punjab Kings  (20 ovs maximum)

Prabhsimran Singh c †Rahmanullah Gurbaz b Southee23121022191.66
Shikhar Dhawan (c)b Varun40297560137.93
Bhanuka Rajapaksa c Singh b Yadav50324752156.25
Jitesh Sharma †c Yadav b Southee21111312190.90
Sikandar Raza c Rana b Narine16132211123.07
Sam Curran not out26172702152.94
M Shahrukh Khan not out1171120157.14
Extras(lb 1, nb 1, w 2)4
TOTAL20 Ov (RR: 9.55)191/5
Did not bat: Harpreet Brar, Rahul Chahar, Arshdeep Singh, Nathan Ellis, Rishi Dhawan 
Fall of wickets: 1-23 (Prabhsimran Singh, 1.6 ov), 2-109 (Bhanuka Rajapaksa, 10.6 ov), 3-135 (Jitesh Sharma, 13.3 ov), 4-143 (Shikhar Dhawan, 14.3 ov), 5-168 (Sikandar Raza, 17.5 ov)
Umesh Yadav402716.75112100
Tim Southee4054213.5076300
Sunil Narine4040110.0083210
Varun Chakravarthy402616.50102110
Shardul Thakur4043010.7574201

Kolkata Knight Riders  (T: 154 runs from 16 ovs)

Mandeep Singh c Curran b Arshdeep Singh2470050.00
Rahmanullah Gurbaz †b Ellis22162631137.50
Anukul Roy c Sikandar Raza b Arshdeep Singh4551080.00
Venkatesh Iyer c Chahar b Arshdeep Singh34286631121.42
Nitish Rana (c)c Chahar b Sikandar Raza24172331141.17
Rinku Singh c Sikandar Raza b Chahar44500100.00
Andre Russell c Sikandar Raza b Curran35192432184.21
Shardul Thakur not out83801266.66
Sunil Narine not out72401350.00
Extras(b 1, lb 2, nb 2, w 1)6
TOTAL16 Ov (RR: 9.12)146/7
Did not bat: Tim Southee, Umesh Yadav 
Fall of wickets: 1-13 (Mandeep Singh, 1.1 ov), 2-17 (Anukul Roy, 1.6 ov), 3-29 (Rahmanullah Gurbaz, 4.2 ov), 4-75 (Nitish Rana, 9.2 ov), 5-80 (Rinku Singh, 10.1 ov), 6-130 (Andre Russell, 14.5 ov), 7-138 (Venkatesh Iyer, 15.3 ov)
Sam Curran3038112.6643300
Arshdeep Singh301936.33102100
Nathan Ellis302719.0082102
Sikandar Raza302518.3353010
Rishi Dhawan1015015.0022100
Rahul Chahar201216.0050100
Harpreet Brar10707.0031000

For more IPL news, follow 12betindia.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *