MS Dhoni

Watch: Umpires miss MS Dhoni’s big mistake

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has seen some spectacular last-over finishes, including one between the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and Chennai Super Kings (CSK).

The CSK team held their nerve to win by eight runs against the RCB team, who could have pulled off a spectacular chase of 227 runs if their lower-middle order hadn’t collapsed in the final few overs.

However, many fans and analysts believe that a bad call by the third umpire could have affected the outcome of the game.

Although TV umpires are now in charge of declaring front-foot no-balls, MS Dhoni’s involvement in the incident raised eyebrows.

MS Dhoni, the CSK captain, grabbed the ball from Ravindra Jadeja’s spin past Dinesh Karthik’s bat and bails quickly in the 15th over of the innings. The stumping appeal was heard upstairs, but third umpire Michael Gough ruled Karthik was not out because his foot was planted.

However, the replays revealed that Dhoni had collected the ball just before the stump line, and as per the rules, the ball should be collected only after it goes past the stumps.

If it happens before the stumps, it is deemed a no-ball. Nevertheless, the play resumed without any further scrutiny.

 While this no-ball incident may not have made a significant difference in the outcome, it would have increased the pressure on the bowlers with an extra ball to deliver.

Despite the controversy, the CSK team managed to remain calm and earn their victory, propelling them to second position in the points standings.

 Twitter, on the other hand, was eager to call out the third umpire’s mistake, claiming that it was an obvious no-ball that was missed.

For more IPL news, follow 12betindia.

Also checkout 12cricket.com for the best Cricket news and updates

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *